Skip to main content

MTA AGM and Member Forum

The Manufacturing Technologies Association’s Annual General Meeting took place on 2nd December at Austin Court in Birmingham.

Before the AGM took place there was a Member’s Forum, which focused on the MTA’s economics and statistics service led by Geoff Noon. Discussions were also held on the prospect of an EU referendum led by Paul O’Donnell.

MTA President Guy Mollart oversaw proceedings and looked back on the past year, praising the Association for putting on some compelling events on a varied range of topics which have been beneficial to the membership. 

Saying…. “be it the Surface Engineering event we co-hosted a at Cranfield University in the Spring, Additive Manufacturing – or working with Innovate UK on developing and delivering a National Strategy and Industry 4.0 - where we sponsored the recent MTC thought leadership event. The MTA always has the development of our industry at heart”

During the AGM the following members were re-elected to the council.

Mr Simon Pollard  - Kyal Machines Tools Limited

Mr Mark Ridgway -  Group Rhodes Limited

Mr Phil Sholl - DVST Limited

Mr Peter Devlin  - Coventry Engineering Limited

Dr Tony Bannan - Precision Technologies Group Limited

Mr Steve Brittan - BSA Machine Tools Limited

Mr Steve Finn - Mori Seki (UK) Limited

Mr Richard Kingsbury - Geo Kingsbury Machine Tools Limited

Mr Rob Gordon  - Coventry Engineering Limited

Mr Mike Berry  - 600 Group UK

Mr Ed James  -  Citizen Machinery UK Limited

Mr Paul Battersby   -   Nederman Limited         

Mr Guy Newton  - Ellesco Limited

Mr Roger Howkins  - Matsura

Mr Andrew Steele   - Forcam UK

 Mr Barry Long - Rohm

Ms Juliet Fidorra  - Pryor Marketing Technology

Mr Iain Wilson  - Sandvik Coromant

Mr James Rhys-Davies  - Sandvik Coromant

Mr Simon Burrow  -  Matsuura Machinery

Mr Paul Farndon  -  Matrix Machine Tools

The following members retired from the council this year and this coincided with the creation of the MTA’s new Stephen Panke Fellowship. The Fellowships are named after Stephen Panke, who during his long and distinguished career with the MTA served as MTA President on two occasions. The fellowship is designed to honour individuals who have given exceptional service to the Association throughout their careers and ensure that any retiring member of the MTA extended family remains connected to the Association      

Retirement from Council

 Mr Bill Neal -  Roemheld UK Limited.

Mr Stephen Panke  - Pearson Panke Limited

Mr Geoff Lloyd  - Heller Machine Tools Limited

Bob Hunt  - Star Micronics UK Limited

Following the AGM members enjoyed a Lunch which featured keynote speaker, Col Andy Deans of the MoD’s Training, Education, Skills, Recruiting & Resettlement. Col Deans outlined how the military and industry can work together to bridge the skills gap.