Following the departmental changes announced by the Prime Minister, BEIS has been restructured into three new departments:

The Department for Business and Trade brings together the business focused functions of BEIS and the former Department for International Trade. The Department will support businesses working both in the UK and abroad, and aims to deliver a single voice for business inside government, focused on growing the economy with better regulation, new trade deals, and a renewed culture of enterprise.

The Department is led by Kemi Badenoch as Secretary of State.

The Department for Science, Innovation and Technology is a brand-new Department that has been established to deliver the Prime Minister’s ambition for the UK to become a science and technology superpower and to improve the lives of everyone across the country through stronger growth, better jobs and bold discoveries.

The move will bring together the five technologies of tomorrow – quantum, AI, engineering biology, semiconductors and future telecoms – along with space, life sciences and green technologies into one single department for the very first time.

Michelle Donelan is the Secretary of State, and she has issued a short video setting out her aims for the new department.

The Department for Energy Security and Net Zero is a new department focussed on reducing energy bills, increasing energy independence and leading the transition to net zero.

The Department aims to transform the UK’s energy supply by investing in renewables and nuclear power, and supporting the North Sea oil and gas industry to decarbonise production.

To reach net zero and build energy resilience, the Department will also work to deliver a cleaner, greener economy by scaling up energy businesses, generating green jobs and attracting new investment to mitigate against the climate crisis and build a prosperous future for everyone in the UK.

Grant Shapps is Secretary of State for the new department.

To top